I’ve learned nothing

kansas-iowa-state-referrees-review-2013-mistake

This post was going to be a lot different when the Patriots were down 10 points entering the fourth quarter. At that time I was stressed, and even physically ill, over something I had no control over and really didn’t have much to do with my life. The Patriots were going to lose the game, and I was questioning my favorite hobby.

Are sports really beneficial?

Take a look at your Facebook feed from last night. One game turned generally nice people (dumb people, but they mean well) into nasty brutes hurling insults at one another. If some alien species snuck a peek at Facebook last night, it would be hard to convince them that human race had ever done anything worthwhile.

But then the Patriots won the game. And introspection is for losers. Time to celebrate!

Also, before we start, I just have to say I was so close to getting it right yesterday. I had Malcolm Butler blocking a kick to save the game instead of the interception. I think that’s close enough.

3. Malaga vs. Valencia – 2:45 – BEIN

brad-soccer13

There actually aren’t too many games the day after the Super Bowl, but we do get an interesting La Liga tilt. Malaga has been stellar on defense at home, only allowing seven goals this season. It will be interesting to see is Valencia can break through this afternoon.

2. Virginia vs. North Carolina – 7:00 – ESPN

1361331000

Who’s in charge of making the ACC schedule? Virginia, the nation’s ACC darling by virtue of not being Duke or North Carolina, has to play the Tarheels on only one day of rest after losing its first game of the season to the Blue Devils. It’s like the schedule maker just saw “Cavaliers” on his computer. “Oh man, I’m going to stick it to LeBron by putting them through the gauntlet.” Pay attention, guy.

1. Iowa State vs. Kansas – 9:00 – ESPN

ku_bkc_isu_02_t960

Awwwww yeeeah. Nothing like some high-scoring Big 12 basketball to get you to switch gears from football season. This might just be the game to pry me away from watching Butler’s interception on loop all day.

One comment

  1. Pingback: I’m glad the Patriots lost | The Playa Hater's Blog

Leave a comment